Uncertainty

“God only rarely reveals the future. When he does so, it is for one reason: it’s a future that was written so as to be altered.” – Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

Anyone who knows me knows I overanalyze I’m a worrywart (they say admittance is the first step to recovery).  I like to plan for every unknown variable because I don’t do well with (unpleasant) surprises.  But each year that I’ve seen myself grow and mature, I’m learning it’s better to live not knowing than to have wrong answers. As a result, I’ve embraced the one thing that has scared me most….the unknown.

There is an answer and a reason for everything.  This has always been my mantra and is probably the reason why I studied law–to master the art of logical reasoning and mitigate all risks.  I used to always have a Plan A, B and C. And in case those plans don’t work, have a Plan D through Z.

Uncertainty Ahead
However, over the past year, I’ve watched my friends and myself endure things that we could never plan for– the loss of family members, dissolution of marriages, loss of jobs and assets, health problems and severance of friendships.  What I have learned from it all is there is no antidote for uncertainty.  We must embrace uncertainty– roll in it, love it and appreciate it, because it means that the future is still left for us to define.

I’m always reminded of the Yiddish proverb Der mentsh trakht un Got lakht (man plans and God laughs).  The unknown is one of the beauties of life.  It is a humbling reminder that I cannot control everything.  The Creator, God, Allah, Yaweh, Buddah, Brahman, Krishna, the Universe is at the helm and I’m blessed to be given the opportunity to come along for the ride.  Our job is to make the best of every curve ball that rounds the corner until our ride ends.

As comedienne Gilda Radner once said, “I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end.  Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next.  Delicious Ambiguity.”

Cheers to uncertainty!

What's Your Opinion?

