My Year in Review

I was digging through the archives and saw that I penned this but never posted. Better late than never I suppose. Since a new year is almost over I thought it would be good to remember what last year was like as I prepare to reflect on the upcoming new one:

Ten days until the end of the first decade of the new millennia, and what a year it has been! I celebrated as new life entered the world, and mourned as others departed. I had highs, lows, laughter, joy and pain. I acquired a deeper appreciation for my family and the important role they play in my life. I forged new friendships, and strengthened the bonds with old friends while offering advice, hugs and a shoulder and getting the same in return. I made my way back to Africa and visited the Bahamas and Jamaica (twice), and celebrated embraced my entry into the thirty and over club. I learned why I love being an attorney (even though I publicly bemoan it) and what the joy of same-sex marriage and the repeal of DADT means to the people that matter to me most. At times I thought I was living a fabulous dream and needed someone to pinch me, while other times, I wanted to wake up from what seemed like a terrible nightmare. I cleaned out the closet and chucked up my deuces. This blog was born. In the end, I have so much to be thankful for and proud of, on my journey to self-improvement.

As I reflect on the year and my accomplishments (or lack thereof), I recognized that I am truly truly BLESSED! Here’s to an even better 2011!

Happy Holidays!

What's Your Opinion?

