What’s Your Answer?

“Sometimes the answer is as simple as…(s)he faked the whole thing”

We have all had at least one experience that has blindsided us in a negative way (if you haven’t then stop reading this post because you have more living to do!).  I am referring to the friendship/relationship that ended on a bad note and you didn’t see it coming.  It doesn’t have to be a relationship with a significant other, it might have been a friend or a family member that you were forced to cut out of your life.  You were left without the answers that we all believe we need to get “closure” (a word I find very overrated) or you receive an answer that ranks high on the BS-OMeter.

The over-thinker philosopher in me used to spend brain power trying to decipher the answers to questions like how did things go awry? What could I have done differently to affect the outcome?  Why was I so naive to this impending disaster? (yes, I talk to myself often)  Nowadays I rarely dwell on the answers to these questions.  To quell the desire to seek closure from the person who caused me harm, I adopted the mantra “that’s life” (my PG version of sh*t happens).  If that response doesn’t suffice, my new answer will be “(s)he faked the whole thing”–the person you thought (s)he was just isn’t who (s)he is so accept it and keep it moving.

So the next time you can’t figure out why your prince charming turned out to be a jerk, or if you’re wondering why the guy you called your homie constantly speaks badly about you, just tell yourself–(s)he faked the whole thing!  You may never obtain the answer you’re looking for from the one who caused you pain; therefore, creating your own answer may be all that we need to move on.

4 Responses to “What’s Your Answer?”

  1. SteveO Says:

    Try harder. That’s a cheap cop out and an oversimplification of human nature. It’s true that closure comes from within but that doesn’t mean you’re not at fault for incorrectly perceiving the world differently than others (the majority).

    Like

    • LIST Says:

      SteveO: I understand your point of oversimplification. However, I am not saying that a person should not seek answers and should accept my suggestions as the end all and be all. However, there are times when dwelling on something/someone will not get you to the truth. More specifically, expecting the truth and closure to come from the person who has harmed you is oftentimes pointless. As a result, sometimes people have to create their own “truths” to get them over the hump and help them in moving on. Call it the lesser of two evils in a quest for closure.

      Like

  2. Brionne Says:

    Yikes. Sounds like someone badmouthed you and you’re not happy about it? Is that a mis-read? I try to confront the people that hurt me and find this to be a better solution even if it doesn’t result in “closure.”

    Like

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I was born that way is not an answer. Read Book of Genesis 1:27-28 and Book of Genesis 2:24 and you will find the answer

    Like


What's Your Opinion?

