The Business of Law School

Time and time again, when people have asked me do I regret the decision to go to law school (the question usually arises when I’m sulking about my long work hours, exorbitant law school debt and lack of difference I sometimes feel that I am making in the world).

Although I surrounded myself with attorneys who warned me about the drawbacks of the profession, none of their advice could hold me back from my dream–to become a social engineer (that title sounds so much more appealing than saying lawyer).  Recently I came across an article which discussed the two law schools that give graduates the most bang for their buck.  The article is worthy of a blog discussion because time and time again, I have suggested to my friends that despite it’s ranking (not among the top 100) which sadly carries weight in the legal community, Howard is one of the best law schools in the country to attend (I’ll add the caveat—if you’re a minority).  Although some may have their hangups about attending an HBCU (if you don’t know what this means please don’t embarrass yourself by asking anyone—Google it) when it comes to law schools and job placement, Howard wins among most of the top 100 law schools.  One may argue that there is more to law school than job placement, but let’s face it–we go to graduate school to come out with a better paying job (and I suppose more educated).

As the article states, Howard University School of Law has one of the highest percentage of graduates being offered jobs at some of the top law firms in the country, and the school also ranks number 3 on their list of having the cheapest tuition.  Of course, I don’t want to ignore the other variables and leave the impression that all Howard law graduates graduate with top law firm jobs.  Like every law school, there is a curve and ranking amongst its students.  However, graduating at the top of your class at Howard affords a student somewhat similar opportunities (at the start of their career) to that of a law student who graduates from a top ranking law school.  In other words, a student who graduates from a mediocre law school will likely have less job opportunities once he or she graduates in comparison to a Howard law school graduate (of course this is a sweeping statement and there are other variables which could counter my argument).

Therefore, for those of you considering this great investment into your future, don’t overlook Howard’s program–it gives students who do well the best bang for their buck (yes, law school is a business investment in your future) as well as a great education.  Cheers to Howard for producing great social engineers.

 

 

NB:  I am not a Howard law school (or undergraduate) alum.

What's Your Opinion?

