Things I Learned By 30

Happy Birthday to me!!!  A week ago, I turned the big 3-0.  I woke up on the day of my birthday and checked to see whether any gray hairs began sprouting—thankfully I saw none.  I got out of the bed and did a couple stretches—nothing cracked or broke.  Then, for good measure, I put on a pair of jeans I purchased six years ago, and I had to suck my tummy in they still fit like a glove—check!  Realized this turning 30 thing might  be a great thing not that bad after all.  I am not sure why 30 has become such a milestone.  It seems like the only age one looks forward to (or dreads) after turning 21.  What happened to the nine years in between, do they go by unnoticed?

One might say that those nine years are times of tremendous growth (or lack thereof).  Someone told me that my 30’s would be the best years of my life.  I think that’s also what I was told when I turned 20.  Nevertheless, as I sat down thinking about the culmination of embarking on a new decade, I came up with the following list:

 10 Things I Know at 30:

  1. Better to have a few friends and many acquaintances.
  2. There’s so much that I don’t know and will continue to learn.
  3. I’m not perfect, and will never be—and that’s okay.
  4. You won’t be liked by all, and that’s okay too.
  5. It’s not what you know or who you know, it’s how you use (network) what you know and who you know.
  6. Sleep does a body good (and so does regular exercise).
  7. Don’t burn bridges, because you may need to cross one someday.
  8. Your reputation is your most valuable asset.
  9. Failure (and heartbreak) will occur (more than once) and with the right attitude, you’ll bounce back.
  10. We all make mistakes, the lesson is in learning to make things right.

For all of you who are official members of the 30+ club, feel free to add to the list.

Here’s to turning 30!  Hoping it will be a fabulous decade!!

4 Responses to “Things I Learned By 30”

  1. Brie Says:

    Hey Baby!!

    I’m, well yes, 3-0….this is a good list of “truths.” I was physically nodding in agreement reading your list.

    I know now more than ever that the decisions that I made when I was 20 were important, but the ones I make now are life-altering. One must choose wisely.

    xo,
    Brie

    Like

    • LIST Says:

      Hello my love,

      I actually have to disagree with you on this one. The decision we made in our 20s were also somewhat life-altering. Picking our majors in college, choosing whether to study abroad, choosing to live abroad…I think those were all life-altering decisions. It caused our lives to head in a particular direction.

      I think what I’ve learned at 30 is that any age and stage in life, we can re-create ourselves. The decisions we make may have a major impact on our lives, but whether those decisions turn out to be good or bad, we learn from them.

      If it’s one thing I learned (partly from you) is to not let decisions hold you back because you worry about the future…none of us can predict the future no matter how much we try to make the right decisions.

      Don’t allow thirty to prevent you from throwing caution to the wind from time to time.

      Like

  2. Tyson Says:

    LIST: Congrats and welcome to the club. Though frankly, I was a member of the club two decades ago. I wish to add to your list: Anyone who is lying/prevaricating is hiding something. But, its corollary is even more important; everyone has something to hide, but not all that is hidden is equally bad to everyone, or even bad or all.

    One more; I learned this one today: No word has a plain meaning, even the word “grandmother.”

    Like


What's Your Opinion?

